Getting Acquainted

            Hello, this Eclectic Pilgrim’s name is John, and this blog is designed to share some thoughts with you about “the things of the Lord,” to borrow a phrase some Christians use.  It’s a privilege and honor for me to write to you.  I mean that.  I’ll be accountable to the Lord one day for what I share with you, so I’ll seek His guidance as we go along.  I’ll be praying that the Lord can use what appears here for your benefit and for His glory.  Concerning the things I pass along, my greatest prayer is that you’ll remember whatever is from the Holy Spirit for you, and you’ll forget the rest.

            Let’s get right to it.  The first question I want to ask is, do you know Jesus?  He knows you.  He wants you to know Him, too.   Can you say you have a relationship with Christ?  Remember the old hymn, “What a Friend We Have In Jesus”?  When I hear it sung, I can’t help but wonder if those singing it really know Jesus as a friend.  I think too many people like to think of Him as a friend who gives and gives because He’s really Santa Claus disguised as God.    It’s a one way friendship only, from Him to them.

            What about giving back friendship.  My dad often said, “To have friends, you’ve got to be a friend.”  Think about someone you call a friend.  You no doubt spent a lot of time together, come what may, good or bad.  That’s how friendship grows.  A true friend wants to know you and spend time with you, too.  He’ll help you stay on the right track, and you’ll do the same for him.  It’s not some syrupy thing.  There may be heartache or blessings.  You know it’s real because there’s give and take.

            How do we spend time getting to know God?  I’ve heard it said that we talk to God through prayer, and He talks to us through His Word, the Bible.  Have you ever met a person who knew the Lord as a friend?  When I was a baby Christian, about age 16, I went to a Baptist church with another family.  More about that another time.  The Wednesday night youth Bible study was conducted by Bob and Carol F.  They were a terrific couple.  Bob knew so much about the Bible.  It was more than merely possessing knowledge and facts, like some sort of walking encyclopedia. He wasn’t a faker..  When he prayed aloud, he was comfortable talking to God.  I was impressed.  So, one time I asked him how he knew so much about the Bible.  I wanted to know it, too.  He told me it takes time, even years.  Bob told me not to be discouraged by that though.  I wasn’t.  I wanted to follow his good example.

            Jesus said, “If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink” (John 7:37).  What an invitation!  Here’s what He said to His disciples before He was crucified:  “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.  Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you.  Henceforth I call you not servants;…but I have called you my friends;…Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, …” (John 15:13-16).  Knowing He wouldn’t be around for them, or us, in the flesh, He told them of the Comforter to come.  That’s the Holy Spirit Who would pass on truth from Jesus, which comes from God, the Father.  “Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth…” (John 16:13).  In Jesus’ prayer in John 17, He prayed exclusively for His disciples then and for us today.  “I pray for them:  I pray not for the world, but for them which thou has given me; for they are Thine” (17:9).  If you’re a Believer, you’re one of His.  He wants to guide you into the truth, and He’s praying for you (Heb. 7:25).  What a friend we really do have in Jesus!  Count on it.  Rejoice in it.  I couldn’t make it without Him.

Explore posts in the same categories: Salvation, Thoughts from John

Leave a Reply

