Curious About George

Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness? And what concord hath Christ with Belial? or what part hath he that believeth with an infidel?  And what agreement hath the temple of God with idols? for ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you. And will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty. (2 Cor. 6:14-18).

      Probing thoughts come to me at peculiar times.  It was on an evening walk down the long driveway to our mailbox that I was pondering another anticipated family reunion.  We would be celebrating the 90th birthday of Great Aunt C.  Her husband had died 15 years earlier.  C. was my late grandmother’s older sister.  These two women led similar lives in one key respect.  They both married loud-mouthed men who were each quite colorful characters.  I suspect neither of the men were born again believers in Christ through most of their lives.  I believe Grandma and Great Aunt C. were believers, but they were fairly low key about it.  In Grandma’s case, Granddad made her give up the church involvement she dearly loved, which included teaching Sunday school and vacation Bible school.   My mother says Grandma was quite heartbroken over this.  I can’t help but wonder if pent up bitterness over this and a lot more may have contributed to Grandma’s dementia in her last years.

      It’s well known in the family that George S., Grandma’s and C.’s  father, was a devout Christian who did some itinerant Gospel singing as a young man.  He held several jobs, including farming.  He fathered several other children, two of whom died in infancy, and one who committed suicide as an adult.  Some have good Christian families today.  For some reason, this is a branch of the family I’ve seldom seen and know little about.

      As I thought of the marriages of Grandma and Great Aunt C., I couldn’t help but wonder if Great Granddad S.—George—ever admonished them from 2 Cor. 6:14-18 about not being yoked with unbelievers.  I heard it preached often in the Baptist church I attended as a new Christian, and my own children have heard it.  It’s not the kind of thing a young person is likely to take too seriously when overwhelmed by emotions and raging hormones.  Did George teach his children about Man’s depravity, or did they grow up thinking people are basically good deep down?  I suspect the latter is the case.  They may have thought they could reform their men.  The outworking of the lives of Grandma and C. are common examples of what happens when Scripture isn’t heeded or when basic truths are simply not believed.  There are long term consequences.  The wise will absorb the appropriate instruction.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Life, Thoughts from John

Leave a Reply

