Reminder Needed

            The other day my friend D. and I were sharing observations about forgetfulness and growing older.  I found many years ago—long before anyone but a child would call me old—that I just can’t remember little things like I used to.  D. and I agreed that when you’re a kid, your mind is full of trivia because that’s what your world consists of.  The things that become important and necessary as you mature simply crowd out the trivia, or at least make it harder to hang on to, as should indeed be the case.  For example, as a kid I listened to hours and hours of Top 40 radio each day.  I could tell you who did a certain song, when it was released, when I first heard it and on what radio station, and how long it was on the charts.  I’ve long since forgotten most of that.  Unfortunately, my mind is still cluttered with plenty of that nonsense, and it serves no useful purpose.

            On a somewhat related note, when I was doing home school with my son, he got impatient with me because I kept asking him to reread a math problem or something he had written, and I had to keep referring to the teacher key.  He seemed to think I should know exactly what was in his head at the time.  He was sure my head is a sieve.  I had to keep telling him that it takes my mind a while to get geared to the subject matter if I’m involved in something else, while he’d been studying independently.  Then I would have to thoroughly review things to get them in my head clearly if I was to be of help to him.  Maybe somebody else could have done it differently, but that’s just how I am.

            This reminds me of my shop teacher back in school telling me to measure twice and cut once.  Be certain you know what you’re doing before you make that cut.  Furthermore, keep to the original pattern, and don’t use what you just made as a new pattern for the next project.

            What do any of these situations have to do with anything?  Well, we all forget things.  Frequent repetition is a good thing.  It’s not possible to remember everything.  It’s one reason why someone might see a movie several times over.  The object is to really get it into one’s head.  That’s what we’re encouraged to do with the Word of God.

            Look at what Peter wrote in 2 Peter 1:12-15: “Wherefore I will not be negligent to put you always in remembrance of these things, though ye know them, and be established in the present truth. Yea, I think it meet, as long as I am in this tabernacle, to stir you up by putting you in remembrance; Knowing that shortly I must put off this my tabernacle, even as our Lord Jesus Christ hath shewed me. Moreover I will endeavour that ye may be able after my decease to have these things always in remembrance.”  Peter was getting on in years and wouldn’t be around to teach what he knew needed to be taught.  He’s telling his readers that they need to be reminded of key truths, and putting those things in writing is necessary.  They need to be reminded of them and remember them.

            James takes it a step further.  He commands his readers to be doers of the word.  Act it out.  You can’t do that unless it’s really engrained in your brain.  In James 1:22-25 he says, “But be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving your own selves. For if any be a hearer of the word, and not a doer, he is like unto a man beholding his natural face in a glass: For he beholdeth himself, and goeth his way, and straightway forgetteth what manner of man he was. But whoso looketh into the perfect law of liberty, and continueth therein, he being not a forgetful hearer, but a doer of the work, this man shall be blessed in his deed.”  As God allows, absorb His Word into your head and heart.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Life, Thoughts from John

Leave a Reply

