Truth Cat

       Disagreements with my teenage son this week prompted me to think deeply and pray about many things.  He accuses me of being unloving because he doesn’t understand the mindset from which I operate.  Let me share some of my heartfelt thoughts with you.
        As a good friend of mine has often said, there are Truth cats and Love cats.  That’s true of both individual Christians and churches.  Love and truth shouldn’t be mutually exclusive, but some emphasize love over truth, while some emphasize truth first.  I’m a Truth cat.  Truth is vital to me.  I’m passionate about it.  I seek it wherever I can.  It’s been this way since I was young.  Quest for truth is what God used to draw me to Christ.  This doesn’t mean at all that I’m not loving.  I believe there’s nothing I can do that’s more loving than to share truth with someone and encourage them to live by it.  That’s what motivated me to take up the profession of Christian radio for a number of years.  It’s what motivated me to home school my children.  It’s why I write to you.  To me, conveying truth is a supreme act of love.  I’m a firm believer in Paul’s words in Eph. 4:14-15: “That we henceforth be no more children, tossed to and fro, and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the sleight of men, and cunning craftiness, whereby they lie in wait to deceive; But speaking the truth in love, may grow up into him in all things, which is the head, even Christ.”  In John 8:32 Jesus said, “And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”
        The Apostle John emphasizes love a great deal.  In his short epistles he reiterates Jesus’ command for believers to love one another (Jn. 13:34-35; 1 Jn. 2:7-11).  I’ve had to learn some hard lessons over the years about loving other Christians above others, but I don’t want to go into that here now.  John also emphasizes truth.  He said in 3 Jn. 4, “I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.”  I won’t cite more verses here, but John, Peter, and Paul, to name a few, wrote about warning and withdrawing from those who deliberately stray from and pervert the truth.
        Unfortunately, 99% of the world doesn’t see things this way.  When I share truth about something, I’m perceived as critical, negative and unloving.  Granted, my technique turns off a lot of people, and perfecting it is something I struggle with.  It’s said you catch more flies with honey than vinegar.  On the other hand, some people just won’t get it, and that causes me more heartache and pain than you can know.  That pain is a curse to me.  It clouds my thoughts and good judgment many times.  I get upset stomach from hearing falsehoods preached at church, so I avoid going in order to have peace within myself and within my family.  I can’t have reasonable discussions with extended family on important issues.  Been there, done that.  They won’t have it.  It pains me that I can’t even persuade my wife to quit drinking diet pop, which contains aspartame, shown to be a cause of diabetes, heart disease, cancer, and even death.   To her I’m a fanatic who merely read about something.  I wish I could slough things off more easily.  I often have to remember what God told Samuel.  When the people of Israel wanted a king, Samuel felt rejected.  God told him they were rejecting Him, not Samuel (1 Sam. 8:4-9).
        I’m not unloving.  I just show love differently than most.  It seems  I’m the one who suffers as a result.  Maybe I’m just an “odd duck”, but these are things I’ve struggled with for years.  I need the ongoing guidance and comfort of God’s wonderful Holy Spirit.  Pray for me if you would.  I’ll be praying for you.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Life, Thoughts from John

Leave a Reply

