A Little Housekeeping

            We’ve all said or done things we wish we could go back and do over, hoping for a better outcome.  I could write a book on my own experiences, but it wouldn’t get me anywhere and would probably drive me insane.  It’s usually best to move on.  Nonetheless, I want to do a little housekeeping and touch up a few items with you.  You may have noticed I have strong convictions, and I’m glad I can speak my mind about many of them when writing to you, but there are some things I’ve written to you that bug me and seem to call for clarification.  They may be little things that make you laugh, and I could be digging myself in deeper by even bringing them up, but I’ll take that chance.

            Bible illiteracy  A few letters back I wrote about some messages my mother wrote and delivered to her church congregation.  I spoke of Bible illiterates with considerable contempt.  I hope you understood that, if you haven’t had much exposure to the Bible, I’m not talking about you.  You can still learn about God’s Word.  My regret is that my little messages here only give you a smattering of Bible knowledge.  Of course, take all you can get.  What I have utter contempt for is the fact that people can sit in church for years and years, hearing preaching from the Bible, which is devoid of any substance, and they think they know the Bible.  They’re exposed to platitudes, moral teaching, or goofy ideology which is given seeming legitimacy by the use of a few Bible verses.  Such preaching makes me angry and disgusted.  It can happen in supposedly good churches.  People under such blather are hypnotized.  They’re immunized against the real truth of God’s Word and may never come to Christ.  When I was a new Christian Rev. 3:15-16 hit the mark with me.  Jesus spoke these words to the church at Laodicea: “I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot. So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.”  I don’t want to be lukewarm.  How about you?

            Broken Ankle  Why would I write about such a personal thing and share it here?  For me it was a life changing experience.  We’ve all had  them, or you will have, if for some reason you don’t think you’ve had one yet.  They are certainly a jolt to our mindset and emotions and change how we approach things.  Such experiences may last a short or long time, but they leave their mark.  If it’s not a physical injury, it might be the loss of possessions, a job, or the death of a friend or loved one.  They’re an inevitable part of life, and we shouldn’t think they’re strange or foreign.  The challenge is to grow into greater maturity.  When I visited our family doctor after the ankle healed, he noted my calm demeanor that day and compared my ankle break to shock therapy, which he thought had had a good result in my case.

            Yellow Ribbon  In a previous post I referred to the song, “Tie a Yellow Ribbon Round the Old Oak Tree.”  If you’re into rap, heavy metal, or something else, or if you’re fairly young, you may not have heard it.  It was the number one song on the music charts for the year 1973.  I remember the song all too well.  This nauseatingly cheery ditty was overplayed big time on the radio.  Familiarity breeds contempt.  There was even a country version.  It tells a story about a man who writes a letter to his girl before he’s released from prison, asking her to tie a yellow ribbon around an old oak tree if she still loves him.  When he arrives home, everybody on the bus cheers because there are a hundred yellow ribbons on the oak tree.  Good story maybe, but a sappy song.

Explore posts in the same categories: Thoughts from John

Leave a Reply

