Can’t Go Back

Luke 9:61-62–“And another also said, Lord, I will follow thee; but let me first go bid them farewell, which are at home at my house. And Jesus said unto him, No man, having put his hand to the plough, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.”

2 Tim. 4:10—“For Demas hath forsaken me, having loved this present world, and is departed unto Thessalonica…”

2 Cor. 5:17–“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.”

            In spite of a number one country and rock song from a while back, you really can’t go back home or to a past way of life and have things as they were before.  The world would love to have you and me think so, but if you’re truly born again and growing in the Lord, it isn’t going to happen.

            The outcome for someone who tries to have it the old way won’t be good.  From a Biblical viewpoint, notice in Luke 9:61-62 what Jesus says to one man who wanted to follow Him.  The person who looks back isn’t fit for His kingdom.  Paul wrote to Timothy that Demas had left him, having loved this present world; but we don’t know what consequences Demas faced.  It would be awful to have my name or your name remembered in such a negative way, wouldn’t it?  In 2 Cor. 5:17 Paul declares that a believer in Christ is a new creation.  If you or I try to go back to past ways, past people, past music, past anything, we’ll find it unsatisfying and unfulfilling.  That’s because of the Holy Spirit’s working in us.  The Lord has given us a new heart, so old things will leave us with a holy dissatisfaction.  That’s a good thing.  Pay attention to it.  That’s holy growing pains.  You’ll know when it happens.

            Back in about 1990 I tried a little experiment.  My family and I went home to stay with my parents about 300 miles away for several days, and I went to see some old friends I had lost touch with.  A couple of them were Christians for whom I had had a great deal of respect.  I wanted to see if we still had anything in common and see whether we could rekindle friendships for our mutual benefit.  The results were interesting, but I can tell you before you read any further that I haven’t spoken with any of them since, with the exception of one, and contact with that person is very rare.

            Terry was someone I first knew from the radio station at the Bible college I attended.  I got to know him and his family better when I began attending his church.  When I went to see him at his home, it seemed we had good fellowship, until the subject of school came up.  I thought he would be supportive of my desire to home school our kids, who weren’t old enough for school at that  time.  Terry had put his kids in public school, thinking they could be salt and light to others.  That brings up issues I won’t get into.  Suffice it to say that his arguments were silly and disappointingly shallow for someone I thought had a better head on his shoulders.  Clearly we were headed down different paths.  Rightly or wrongly, that was a quiet breaking point for us.

            Mark was another sharp guy with whom I had had had some significant, wide ranging political discussions in the past, and I wanted to see if we were on the same page.  We weren’t.  I figured I’d better leave that one alone, too.

            The same is true of a family I knew from my time as a social activist.  They were sad to see I wouldn’t rejoin their efforts.  It was simply time to move on.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Life, Thoughts from John

2 Comments on “Can’t Go Back”

  1. womanofworship Says:

    Yeah sometimes its better to just move on and not bring up old mess for others to see. . I agree moving on is better that is exactly what I’m trying to do just move on. . . with God’s promition.

    womanofworship.com


Leave a Reply

