Dropped

            I’ve told you a little about disassociating from certain people from the past, but there’s another side to the coin–people who have disassociated themselves from me.  I’m not talking about those I knew in school, college, work, etc. who haven’t kept in contact for any number of reasons.  I mean those who flat out dropped contact with me as if I were a hot potato.  You’ve no doubt had it happen.  If not, be prepared.  One day it will happen to you, no doubt many times over.  Sometimes it’s painful, and other times it’s a good thing.  Let me give you some examples from my experiences.

Once I was doing a part-time job from home making phone calls for a local insurance company manager. She e-mailed me resumes of prospects she hoped would come in to interview for positions as agents.  I made $10 for everybody who kept the appointment I set up for them to see her.  The first few weeks went fair.  She gushed with compliments and said I was such a big help.  Then we took a couple months off for reasons I don’t have time to explain here.  Insurance Lady got back in touch, and I did three more weeks of calling for her.  I got $10 for 11-12 hours of work, and the check was long delayed before coming.  One day I e-mailed I.L. with the proposal that she pay me a meager $10 each week as base pay in addition to whatever else I might earn.  Would you believe I never got a reply?  Not a single e-mail or phone call.  I haven’t called her either.  The gig was over.  I can’t say I’m heartbroken.

            I once bought what I think is an excellent health juice from a multilevel marketing company.  My attempts to pitch it to others fell flat.  When people above me in the ranks made some changes, B.T. got in touch with me and began pressuring me to start selling again.  If I would subscribe to a web site service, I could send out e-mails to my “warm market”—all my family, friends, acquaintances, etc.  Of course I’d call them first to get permission to e-mail them.  Well, I don’t need any more rejection than I’ve already got from the likes of them!  Furthermore, when the bill came due for the web service, I cancelled, since I can’t afford it.  I e-mailed B.T. to let him know, and, you guessed it, he hasn’t been in touch with me since.  He’s got greener, more lucrative fields to plow.

            Then there’s church.  When I wrote a letter withdrawing my membership a few years ago, not one person even acknowledged it.  It would have been nice if the pastor or somebody else of standing would have taken the time to ask me if I might reconsider.  Nobody made any attempts at reconciliation whatsoever.  Oh, I go back with the rest of my family now and then, and people are cordial, when they acknowledge me at all; but nobody asks where I’ve been keeping myself or invites me to come back.

            These things happen to us all as we go through life.  I haven’t burned many bridges behind me, so maybe I’ll be back in touch with those who have dropped me; but I’m not holding my breath.  In contrast, there are these words of comfort from God’s Word.  Come what may, He will not forsake His own.

Ps. 27:10—“When my father and my mother forsake me, then the LORD will take me up.”

Ps. 37:25—“I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken, nor his seed begging bread.”

Heb. 13:5—“Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Life, Thoughts from John

Leave a Reply

