A Stranger Here

            I like a good story, and older science fiction from the 1940’s and ‘50’s is some of the best I think.  Some of it’s pretty corny, cartoonish, and melodramatic, but simpler and more wholesome than modern sci fi.

            I read a story about a man whose mind was swapped into the body of a galactic prince 200,000 years in the future.  What this man experienced was striking to me because it parallels what I’ve often felt while growing up and later after I became a Christian.  Put yourself in the shoes of our hero and see if you can identify with him.

            A life changing event has occurred, propelling you into an unfamiliar situation.  You’re at a serious disadvantage because you’re ignorant of so many things.  So much is new, and everything comes as a surprise.  People know you, or they know who they think you are, but you don’t know them.  They have certain expectations of you, but you don’t know what they are or how to live up to them.  You wish you had the knowledge others think you do, and the knowledge and experience you do have doesn’t pertain to the present situation.  You don’t know or understand the rules by which you’re supposed to live.  You don’t know who are friends and who are enemies.  You’re afraid of making a blunder.  Nonetheless,  you have no choice but to bluff your way through as resourcefully as possible, hoping not to give yourself away, because that could lead to trouble.  When a situation forces you to reveal who you really are, almost no one takes you seriously.  There’s only one who knows your identity, but he wants to take advantage of you.

            I’ve often had such experiences.  I didn’t fit in at school, work, or church, not even among family, and that’s still how it is today.  Becoming a follower of Christ set me apart even more, sometimes among other Christians.

In this particular sci fi story, our hero is clever enough to get through some very intense crises.  He has to depend on his wits and intuition more than I think I could if I were in his place.  Thankfully, as believers, we have the Holy Spirit and God’s Word to guide us.  I don’t have to depend on my limited wits alone.  As believers we can learn to understand the ways of this evil, corrupt world, so we won’t be surprised, and we can discover how our Lord wants us to live in it.  I find tremendous comfort in knowing I can call on the Lord any time in prayer.  He’s always with me and gives me strength I don’t otherwise have.  When I’m weak, He’s strong.  If someone were to accuse me of using my faith as a crutch, I’d say, “You better believe it!  The Lord is my crutch, and I lean on Him.”  That doesn’t mean things are always easy, but it means I’m not alone through life’s trials.  The hero of the sci fi story was a prince and had to act the part.  We as believers are priests, and the Holy Spirit empowers us to live up to our calling.  Consider: 

2 Cor. 12:9-10—“And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.”  1 Pet. 2:9-10—“But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light; Which in time past were not a people, but are now the people of God: which had not obtained mercy, but now have obtained mercy.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Life, Salvation, Thoughts from John

Leave a Reply

