Waffling Witness?

We were at a restaurant prior to a meeting. D. bowed his head and prayed aloud to thank the Lord for our food and to pray for world peace. He told the two men sitting across from us that he hoped they didn’t mind. The man who replied most genially was the type to pepper his conversation with profanity. He reminded me of my late Granddad M who spoke in the same manner.

I don’t want to pray as D. does. If I remember to thank God for my food when I’m in public, I bow my head briefly and pray silently. I only pray aloud if asked to when I’m among Christian family members or friends.

It’s only been recently that I’ve noticed D. praying aloud at meals when we’ve been out to eat. I’m not sure who he’s trying to impress-me or those around us.

He’s a moral man who talks about being religious, but I’ve never heard him utter the name of Jesus. I doubt whether he’s a born again believer based on several conversations, which he mostly dominates.

During the meeting, R., the woman who led most of the evening’s events, passed out CD’s containing material relevant to our purpose there. Through the window of the CD envelope I noticed magic marker had been used to write on the CD.

R.’s business card was partly visible as well. It displayed a large dark loop, which at first I thought was from the same marker used on the CD. Closer observation revealed the loop was part of the fish symbol often displayed by Christians.

The next day I e-mailed R. and asked if the symbol meant she was a Christian. I told her My family and I are. She replied and said her family attends a certain Baptist church in another town. The symbol on the card is a conversation starter for her.

But who converses with her? Other Christians like me? Or does she really get questions and comments from unbelievers?

I don’t want to witness as R. does and make people guess what they symbol is about.

I heard once that someone criticized Evangelist D. L. Moody in the 1800’s for his method of witnessing. He supposedly replied by saying something like, “My way of witnessing is better than yours of not witnessing.”

Perhaps I’m as guilty as Moody’s critic.

I’m no evangelist. I’ve undoubtedly missed many opportunities to share Christ with those who need Him. But I’m more of a one-on-one conversationalist. I’d rather speak straightforwardly. I don’t want to put on a show or display something mysterious.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Life, Thoughts from John

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

