It’s Old, It’s New, It’s Old, It’s New, It’s Old…

Ecclesiastes 2:9-11–The thing that hath been, it is that which shall be; and that which is done is that which shall be done: and there is no new thing under the sun. Is there any thing whereof it may be said, See, this is new? it hath been already of old time, which was before us. There is no remembrance of former things; neither shall there be any remembrance of things that are to come with those that shall come after.

Now that I’m in my fifties, I appreciate more and more the attitude of a good friend who’s in his seventies. He says so much of what we see around us is like old TV reruns, and it’s boring.

I understand it because I see patterns in so many things. When you’ve seen one thing, you’ve seen another. Only the details are different.

War? Political cover-up? The rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer? It’s all been done before. It’s not new. It’s not interesting. It’s downright boring.

Sometimes I still want to know details of current events because I believe it’s important to be informed. But the more headlines I see, the more I can practically fill in the details myself.

And when it comes to politics, The Who are quoted from “We Don’t Get Fooled Again” more often than I can count. “Meet the new boss. same as the old boss.”

This is the world we live in. Know it, but don’t get the idea that we’re into some new thing. It makes one quite world weary and all the more eager for one day being with our wonderful Lord Himself.

Someday He’ll set things right, and then things really will be new.

Explore posts in the same categories: Thoughts from John

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

