Quitting Kurt

I started reading a Kurt Vonnegut novel, but decided to quit before I was too far into it. I’ve read several of his books before, but I just couldn’t stomach this one.

It made me world weary. As always, he had some fun and interesting ideas, but I didn’t care for the absurdities and vulgarity. I’m no prude. I just didn’t care to slog through such nonsense to get to the meat of the story.

And what would that meat have been? It took him so long to get to what was supposed to be the main idea. All the diversions and polemics were more than I cared for.

The vonnegut story was quite a contrast to the Kenneth Oppel sci fi story I’d finished earlier in the weekend. Oppel’s novel was a good story and just plain fun.

As I said, the vonnegut novel made me world weary. One day God will set things right. No more doubters, cynics and skeptics. He’ll make things plain for each of us.

1 John 2: 17–And the world passeth away, and the lust thereof: but he that doeth the will of God abideth for ever.

Explore posts in the same categories: Thoughts from John

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

