What’s Wrong with the Movie “The Vow”?

Friday night my wife and I watch the movie “The Vow,” which probably won’t be running much longer in theaters. It began February 10th, and I paid it no attention.

I figured it would be a syrupy, poorly done story, and I teased my wife by saying we’d be the only ones in the theater. Well, we werent. A few others were there.

And the movie blew me away. I loved it and have had scenes from it going through my head for the past couple of days. I’d like to see it again sometime, maybe when the DVD comes out.

In a nutshell, the movie is about a husband and wife who are in a car accident. The wife loses some memory and doesn’t recall that she ever knew, loved and married her husband. She ends up back with her family while he tries dating her all over again. Eventually, they get back together.

The story is a powerful one. There were no religious or Christian references. Below I’ll tell you why that’s significant.

The movie is based on a book called The Vow: The True Events that Inspired the Movie, by Kim Carpenter and Krickitt Carpenter, along with Dana Wilkerson. Actually, their book first came out in 2000 and was slightly updated for the movie’s release.

Allow me to share the Amazon.com description of the book because it summarizes the true story. I have not read the book but would like to.

* * * * *

Life as Kim and Krickitt Carpenter knew it was shattered beyond recognition on November 24, 1993. Two months after their marriage, a devastating car wreck left Krickitt with a massive head injury and in a coma for weeks.

When she finally awoke, she had no idea who Kim was. With no recollection of their relationship and while Krickitt experienced personality changes common to those who suffer head injuries, Kim realized the woman he had married essentially died in the accident.

And yet, against all odds, but through the common faith in Christ that sustained them, Kim and Krickitt fell in love all over again. Even though Kim stood by Krickitt through the darkest times a husband can ever imagine, he insists, “I’m no hero. I made a vow.”

* * * * *

You can click here to view an article about the Carpenters at the time of the movie’s premier.

So, what’s wrong with the movie?

As I noted above, there’s no mention of Christianity. Sure, Hollywood took artistic license and changed the setting from northern New Mexico to Chicago. They changed the names of the couple and no doubt the names of other characters.

But I was disturbed when I discovered after watching the movie that the Carpenters are believers in Christ, and that that fact had been omitted.

One review I read said the movie lacked heart. I can see why. Their faith in Christ is what got the couple through a terribly difficult time. I can’t imagine how my wife and I would make it through such an ordeal.

By the way, we saw the movie shortly before our 29th anniversary. I can think of no one else I’d rather have spent those years with, and I look forward to many more, by God’s grace.

The omission of the Carpenters’ faith from the movie isn’t an oversight. It’s not as though Hollywood movie makers had a conference and said, “Let’s not offend anybody who’s not Christian.”

No, I believe the movie was made by people who hate Christ. They wanted to portray a couple who can overcome extraordinary odds without Christ.

That’s deceptive and deplorable. It sends the worst anti-Christian message of all. Namely, that Man can do good without the Lord.

Yes, Man can do great good. But it won’t satisfy God’s standards.

The Carpenters knew Christ and His righteousness and power for living. Shouldn’t movie goers have been treated to the truth?

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Life, Thoughts from John

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

