Blog on Vacation?

If you’re a regular reader, you might recall I wrote a few weeks back about those sudden things that catch us off guard. If you missed that post, find it here. Without warning our loves can change irrevocably. An adaptable frame of mind is a must.

Here’s a case in point. My routine has been greatly disrupted by recent events here. I wasn’t able to do a new blog post on this site last week.

A week ago this past Friday evening, July 27th, my wife and I found my good friend Gerald semi-comatose in his bed at his home. We had him rushed to the hospital. To make a long story short, he had a heart attack, small stroke and was seriously dehydrated. He was very near death’s door. Thankfully, he’s recovering remarkably well, but has a long way to go.

Gerald has been like a second father to me and has had a notable behind-the-scenes influence on what I do here on this blog and at DestinySurvival. His relatives live a few hundred miles away, and my family is like family to him. Things have been quite hectic for us the past several days with numerous visits to the hospital and tending to his affairs.

We’ve met several Christians at the hospital. They probably can’t openly talk about their faith for legal reasons, but it’s not hard to spot who they are. For example, one of Gerald’s nurses was interested in looking at the MacArthur Study Bible we brought in for him. She wanted to compare it to a study Bible she had at home.

Then, seemingly out of the blue, I got a call from a friend I hadn’t heard from for about a year and a half. She knows Gerald, too, but she hadn’t heard news of him until I told her. She was sympathetic, said she’d pray, and she had some helpful insights for me.

God’s people are where we might not expect. It reminds me of an admonition I’ve shared here before. Let God surprise you. Well, I’m seeing surprises from Him already.

If you would, please pray for Gerald and my family. He needs healing and comfort, and we need wisdom and strength.

As a result of all that’s been happening, I’ve decided to put this Eclectic Pilgrim blog on hold for a while. I hope I can write more later, but my entries may be rather irregular. My apologies. Thanks for reading.

Explore posts in the same categories: Thoughts from John

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

