Going the Extra Mile Down the Wrong Road

1 Corinthians 9:19-23…
19. For though I be free from all men, yet have I made myself servant unto all, that I might gain the more.
20. And unto the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might gain the Jews; to them that are under the law, as under the law, that I might gain them that are under the law;
21. To them that are without law, as without law, (being not without law to God, but under the law to Christ,) that I might gain them that are without law.
22. To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.
23. And this I do for the gospel’s sake, that I might be partaker thereof with you.

I heard a man preach on this message this morning, and one phrase jumped out at me. it’s the words in parentheses in the first part of verse 21 which says, “(being not without law to God, but under the law to Christ,)”.

Christians have taken to heart the notion of being all things to all men (or people). In fact, we’ve gone too far with it. We’ve tried so much to be like the world to win the world that in reality, they’ve won us over, rather than we winning them to Christ.

Our music is like that of the world. So is our dress. I think we’ve gone the extra mile, but down the wrong road.

What about this idea of “being not without law to God, but under the law to Christ”? None of us as believers were born under Jewish law. So that’s not really an issue. But if we love our Lord, we’ll behave righteously. Therefore, we won’t act lawlessly or unrighteously.

Shouldn’t that affect our music, dress, language, etc.? Oh, yes, maybe some of us really are endeavoring to win others for Christ. For the most part though, we just love the world.

Explore posts in the same categories: Christian Life, Thoughts from John

2 Comments on “Going the Extra Mile Down the Wrong Road”


  1. This includes violence, spouse abuse, child abuse and rape which are also against Man’s Law.

    • John Says:

      I heard a report the other day saying the divorce rate among Christians was 38%, not 50-60% as some claim. It’s still divorce, isn’t it? It’s still wrong, isn’t it? I suspect very few cases of divorce among Christians are due to reasonable grounds, such as unfaithfulness or physical abuse. Divorce among Christians is still proof we’re too much like the world.


Leave a Reply

